Trusting Your Gut – The Importance of Self Advocacy



Trusting Your Gut – The Importance of Self Advocacy

It’s been over 11 years now since I first discovered the lump in my breast and embarked on a cancer journey none of us are ever truly prepared for. At the time, I was just 33 years old with two young children at home. Like so many of us, I never imagined cancer would affect me – at least not at such a young age. But when I felt something wasn’t right in my body, I knew I needed to speak up.

I clearly remember the day I first noticed it – I was getting dressed for work one morning and just happened to feel a small, pea-sized lump that didn’t feel normal. At first, I told myself not to worry too much. After all, many women get lumps and cysts that turn out to be nothing serious. But in the back of my mind, I couldn’t shake the feeling that something wasn’t quite right.

So against my initial instinct to pretend it wasn’t there, I made an appointment with my PCP to have it checked out. I was immediately dismissed, as “it didn’t feel like cancer.” As a result, I waited 9 months before seeing anyone else about these new lumps that had since developed.

It was after being diagnosed with Stage IIIA invasive ductal carcinoma that I learned how important it is to advocate for yourself and tune into what your body is trying to tell you. None of us know our bodies better than ourselves, so if something feels off or abnormal, don’t be afraid to speak up. The fact is, many cancers at early stages often have vague, subtle symptoms that can be easy to dismiss.

It took confidence and courage for me to speak up about that lump, even though it seemed small at the time. I had to trust my instincts over the doubts in my head telling me not to worry. And I thank God every day that I listened to my gut, because it very well may have saved my life. Ever since then, I’ve made it my mission to encourage other women to do regular breast exams, get annual mammograms, and most importantly – never be afraid to advocate for themselves if they notice anything abnormal or concerning, no matter how small.

Cancer is scary enough as it is, so trying to navigate the healthcare system on your own with unexplained worries can feel completely overwhelming. But you have the right to a second opinion or more tests until you feel confident with the answers. Don’t allow dismissive doctors or fears of being a hypochondriac to minimize your concerns – that little voice in your head noticing something is off is worth listening to. After all, you’re the expert on your own body and what feels normal versus abnormal.

These days, I’m so happy and grateful to be in remission over 11 years later. But I’ll never forget how scary it was to first face that cancer diagnosis, especially as a young mom just trying to care for my family. My advice to all women out there is – if you notice a change, don’t be afraid to speak up. Be confident advocating for your health and don’t stop until your concerns are addressed. You know yourself better than anyone, so trust your gut. It just might save your life.

And lastly, for any other women currently battling cancer themselves, please remember that you are not alone. Reach out for support – whether from friends, family, or cancer organizations. Focus on hope, treatment, and living life to the fullest each day. You’ve got this!



Comments

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.